Requiem by Nigel Shaw


Out of stock

SKU: Shaw-CD-01-o Category:


Brand new. Opened only to make sound clips.

THE WELL OF SOULS Requiem is based in part on the classical form of Mass for the Dead. However, this work is not dedicated to any specific religion but to a wider honoring of spirit. Much of the inspiration for the essence of this music was drawn from the requiem of the French composer Maurice Durufl. He, along with Faur, broke the accepted pattern of previous requiems by evoking feelings of love and hope in our passing, instead of fear and judgement. The Well of Souls Requiem is a personal interpretation of the journey through death, yet this music is as much a celebration of life as a song for the dead. The literal translation of the Latin ‘Requiem’ is rest.

The EAGLES GIFT is the precious gift of life, the place from which the Requiem unfolds. Like water, the spirit is drawn from the WELL OF SOULS to experience life’s moments of ecstasy and despair. A PRAYER is offered up that all may live and die with dignity and honor this HALLOWED EARTH. The fragile being desires SANCTUARY, and calls out for a place of safety, until at death the soul tenderly whispers unto itself, REST GENTLE HEART, Compassion, forgiveness and MERCY are the graces which we can bestow upon ourselves. Together all living beings face the infinite and ETERNAL, moving beyond light and dark. OPEN and released, the soul takes flight on the everlasting quest for the SPIRIT OF EDEN.

Performed on piano and keyboards, wooden flutes, traditional whistles, and gentle percussion. The vocals were performed by Carolyn Hillyer. Total album duration 65 minutes

Track List:

  1. Eagle’s Gift
  2. Well of Souls
  3. Prayer
  4. Hallowed Earth
  5. Sanctuary
  6. Rest Gentle Heart
  7. Mercy
  8. Eternal
  9. Open
  10. Spirit of Eden

Additional information

Weight 4 oz
Dimensions 5.5 × 5 × .5 in


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.