Spirit into Sound by Mickey Hart


Only 1 left in stock

SKU: Hart-CD-R8387-o Category:


Brand new. Opened only to make sound clips.

With Spirit into Sound, Hart has a gentler music that looks toward the melodic side of percussion. Although there are a few guests, including tabla player Zakir Hussain, Grateful Dead guitarist Bob Weir, and sarangi master Ustad Sultan Khan, it’s Mickey Hart and vocalist/percussionist Rebeca Mauleon who dominate the album. They play melodic percussion instruments and/or electronic samples of African balafon, Brazilian berimbau, and steel drums. For a drummer as worldly as Hart, Spirit into Sound is surprisingly naïve in its childlike rhythms. Mauleon’s wordless chants make Spirit into Sound sound like a global glossolalia nursery rhyme. This isn’t an album for the rhythmatists of Hart’s core following, but a more intimate affair. –John Diliberto

Track Listing:

  1. Amazon Nguni
  2. Sueno Tropicale
  3. Cloud Moss
  4. Funky Peru
  5. Shambolaya
  6. Lizard Dance
  7. Nature Talk
  8. Elephant Walk
  9. Chroma
  10. Hidden Beach
  11. Native Sun
  12. Indian Night

Additional information

Weight 4 oz
Dimensions 5.5 × 5 × .5 in


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.